Indices of Deprivation

English indices of deprivation on GOV.UK

Indices of Deprivation 2007

The English Indices of Deprivation 2007 (ID 2007) are the Government's official measure of multiple deprivation at small area level, providing a relative ranking of areas across England according to their level of deprivation.

The Index of Multiple Deprivation brings together 37 different indicators which cover specific aspects or dimensions of deprivation: Income, Employment, Health and Disability, Education, Skills and Training, Barriers to Housing and Services, Living Environment and Crime.

These are weighted and combined to create the overall IMD 2007 (updating information provided in the ID 2004). The majority of the data underpinning the IMD 2007 represents 2005 although some data covers a number of years, for example an average of 2003-2005.

The ID 2007 includes the following measures of deprivation:

Key Points:

The ID in Hertfordshire:

Indices of Deprivation 2010

There are 683 LSOAs in Hertfordshire, each one has been ranked for the individual domains of the IMD (rank 1 being the most deprived, 683 being less deprived).
For the whole IDACI score in 2010, due to scores being tied, ranking goes from 1 - 650.
For the whole IDAOPI score in 2010, due to scores being tied, ranking goes from 1 - 647.